FAA Aviation Medical Certificate Requirements

Who Must Be Certified?

Apr 2014

Guidance is compiled and interpreted by professional pilots and physicians at FlightPhysical.com from the 2014 AME Guide, FAA and FDA web data (www.FAA.gov & www.FDA.gov), instructions specified in the Aeronautical Information Manual, Federal Air Surgeon Bulletins from 1999-2015, and 14 CFR Part 61 and Part 67 (the FARs).

Pilots must hold a current Medical Certificate when exercising the privileges of any of the following certificates:

  • Airline transport pilot
  • Commercial pilot
  • Private pilot
  • Recreational pilot
  • Flight instructor (when acting as pilot in command if serving as a required pilot flight crewmember)
  • Flight engineer
  • Flight navigator
  • Student pilot
  • Civilian Tower Controllers*

*Except for a person employed by the FAA, a branch of the military services or the Coast Guard, a person acting as an air traffic control tower operator also must hold a medical certificate.

This page discussed FAA Aviation Medical Certificate Requirements

Reminder: use FlightPhysical.com to familiarize yourself with aviation medical regulations and guidelines, but always discuss your specific situation with one or more AMEs before dedicating resources toward expensive clinical workups. Find an AME now